Welcome to MilitaryHistoryOnline.com.
You are not signed in.
The current time is: 2/22/2018 1:57:00 AM
 (1946-1999) Other 20th Century Battles    
AuthorMessage
BWilson

top 5
E-9 Cmd Sgt Major

Captured "Commonwealth" tank in Korean War?
Posted on: 1/6/2018 2:08:23 AM
 This photo is stated to be of a captured "Commonwealth" tank in the Korean War. Anyone know more about it? I thought the Commonwealth forces fought with Centurions there and this looks to be a Cromwell?

Cheers

BW
---------------
With occasional, fatigued glances at life's rear-view mirror from the other side of time.

George
Centre Hastings, ON, Canada
top 5
E-9 Cmd Sgt Major

Re: Captured "Commonwealth" tank in Korean War?
Posted on: 1/6/2018 7:38:09 AM
The Canadians used M4 Sherman tanks initially.

I'm not a tank expert but isn't this a Sherman with a 76mm gun? These are Canadians.

Canada did begin to replace the Sherman with Centurion Mark 3 1952 and 1953.

DND had plans to "Americanize" its weaponry but there were problems with the Patton tank. (I can't remember what it was)

The first 21 Centurions arrived in 1952 but they were shipped to the Royal Canadian Dragoons in Germany.

According to www.canadiansoldiers.com, none of the 274 Centurions on order made it to the Korean conflict.

So it seems that for the Canadian contingent of British Commonwealth Forces Korea, the M4 Sherman was the main battle tank.

Bill, I tried to do some light research on captured Cromwells in Korea and it seems that the North Koreans did capture some Cromwell tanks at the "Battle of Happy Valley".

The article, which is short alludes to a situation in which a British Centurion actually destroyed a Cromwell operated by the Chinese.

And this "blogspot", whatever that is says that the British employed Churchill, Cromwell and Centurions in Korea.

[Read More]

The writer poses an interesting question however.

He asks whether it is possible that the USSR gave Cromwell tanks to the Chinese?

Cheers,

George

BWilson